power

power-in-blood

When I was a child, my church sang an old hymn that was one of my favorites, “There is power in the blood.” I remember our preacher used to add 2 or 3 extra words of “power” in the chorus. I remember when I did handyman jobs one summer, I taught the boss and one of the guys how to sing it that way. We sometimes would sing that song while we worked roofing houses.

After losing a lot of blood from a recent surgery, this song has never been more true to me. I am weak without blood. I have no life without blood. I have no power without blood.

Jesus shed his blood for you, he gave his blood to give you life. He gave his blood to give you “power!” Praise him, today! “There is power, power, power, wonder working power, in the precious blood of the lamb!”

Reflection by Bryan Leach
Photo: Marge McCoy

Leave a Reply

