little things

little-things

Always try to be kind to each other and to everyone else. I Thessalonians 5:15b

As I worked my way through the grocery aisles the other day I noticed several people talking on their phones or texting as they wheeled their carts through the maze of cans and boxed goods. Most people seemed to be in their own little worlds only acknowledging other shoppers if their carts bumped each other. After one trip down the paper goods row I realized that I forgot to pick up paper towels so I turned my cart and reentered the row I just left. I noticed an older gentleman I had seen moments earlier walking slowly and looking intently at the items on the shelves. He seemed overwhelmed and confused. I smiled at him and he smiled back. As our carts passed he said, “Excuse me, but do you know where I can find dryer sheets?” I told him he needed the laundry soap row and pointed to my right replying, “I think it’s the next row or maybe two rows over.” He still seemed a little unsure so I said, “Follow me, I will take you to them.” We found the soap row and I led him down the row to his choices for dryer sheets. He said,” I really appreciate your help and you taking time to guide me to the row. You see, I do not usually do the shopping and this is way out of my realm. He seemed so grateful for my tiny act of kindness. I told him he was welcome and asked if he needed help with anything else but he said no. I told him to have a nice day and then he reached into his shirt pocket and pulled out a little piece of candy. He handed it to me and said, “It’s not much but this is for you.” His small gesture of thanks brought a smile to my face. I don’t know his story. I don’t know if his wife was ill and unable to do the weekly shopping or if perhaps he recently lost his spouse and was now on his own. In any case, he needed a little help and it made me happy to be the one to offer it to him.

This little episode reinforced to me the need to not only look but to see the people in our world. Someone in our path may need a little help or they may want to pass along a little blessing. We may not be able to do big things but we can all do something to brighten the day of those we pass. What can you do today?

Devotion and Photo: Marge McCoy

Leave a Reply

