a little persuasion

saturday3

A “Little” Persuasion Warms My Heart

Some brave folks still venture forth
When the wind chill numbs your mind
And creeps up your sleeves, unwrapping its sheaves,
planting goose pimples behind.

Not I, though craving company,
And some cocoa from the store;
When winter swoops down with its frosted crown,
I shiver behind my door . . .

Till the telephone rings out
And a little voice entreats,
“Hey, Grammy, it’s me! I’m calling to see
if you’ll make a snowman with me!”

“Oh, no, it’s not too cold, dear;
I’m glad you gave me a call!
We’ll wear mittens and caps and our warmest wraps,
and we won’t mind the cold at all.”

Poem by Connie Faust
Photo by Cheryl Cook

Leave a Reply

