awake up

Awake Up

Awake up, my glory; awake, psaltery and harp: I myself will awake early. Psalm 57:8

Every year my son has trouble adjusting to the time change. He wants to go to bed the minute it gets dark and it is all we can do to keep him up until 8:00 at night. Since he thinks 6:00 is bed time he also thinks it’s time to get up about 5 or 6 the next morning. Usually if he comes in too early I walk him back to his room and tuck him back in bed and remind him it’s dark time and he needs to get more sleep before his bus comes to get him for his workshop. During the month of December one of his favorite things to do is sit in the dark living room with only the Christmas tree lights on. The last few mornings he has woken up extra early and instead of going back to bed he has coaxed me into turning the tree on and sitting with him on the couch. After the initial irritation of wishing I was still asleep wears off I begin to see this as a special time of day. All the hustle and bustle is yet to hit and it is peaceful and calm. The tree is bright and the room is quiet. It is a great time for prayer and reflection. Sitting here I realize I don’t take enough time just to sit and be still. I would like to but it seems there is usually background noise and always much to do. As we sit on the couch in the glow of the tree my son is mostly quiet but will make occasional comments such as Pretty Tree, Big Star, Nice Angel, and my favorite . . . Love you Mama. Now that is better than an extra hour of sleep.

Devotion and Photo by Marge McCoy

One thought on “awake up

Leave a Reply

